Calendar for: Judge Charles R. Breyer
Courtroom 6, 17th Floor
Courtroom Deputy: Lashanda Scott


Last Updated: May 28 2017 12:25PM
View Scheduling Notes
Monday, May 29 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Wednesday, May 31 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Thursday, Jun 1 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Friday, Jun 2 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Monday, Jun 5 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Tuesday, Jun 6 2017
10:00AM
3:14-cr-00196-CRB-28 - USA v. Barry Blackwell House
AUSA: William Frentzen / DEF: Elizabeth Falk
Motion to Strike Government's Motion for Rejoinder
3:16-cr-00132-CRB-1 - USA v. Charles Burns
AUSA: Andrew Dawson / DEF: Shilpi Agarwal and Elizabeth Falk
AUSA: Andrew Dawson / DEF:Shilpi Agarwal and Elizabeth Falk
Motion for Directed Verdict of Not Guilty on Count Three, or in the alternative, Motion for Dismissal of Count Three on Due Process Grounds Including
Motion for Judgment Acquittal Under Rule 29 as to Counts 2 and 3
3:17-cr-00005-CRB-1 - USA v. Willie Wiley
AUSA: Karen Kreuzkamp / DEF: Jodi Linker
Status Conference (Reptr)
01:30PM
CRB - UNDERSEAL v. UNDERSEAL
Wednesday, Jun 7 2017
10:00AM
3:14-cr-00196-CRB-17 - USA v. Bryan Tilton
AUSA: William Frentzen / DEF: Harris Taback/Prob: Jill Spitalieri
Sentencing
3:14-cr-00538-CRB-1 - USA v. Ebony Standifer (Custody)
AUSA: Thomas Newman / DEF: Michael Stepanian/Prob: Charlie Mabie
Sentencing
3:16-cr-00041-CRB-1 - USA v. Ebony Standifer (Custody)
AUSA: Thomas Newman / DEF: Michael Stepanian/Prob: Charlie Mabie
Sentencing
3:16-cr-00063-CRB-1 - USA v. Alan Weissman
AUSA: Benjamin Kingsley / DEF: David Johanson/Prob: Monica Romero
Sentencing
3:16-cr-00138-CRB-2 - USA v. Marketia Harvey
AUSA: Jerome Mayer-Cantu / DEF: James Vaughns/Prob: Lenene Williams
Sentencing
3:17-cr-00065-CRB-1 - USA v. Barry Clinton Williams
AUSA: Kyle Waldinger / DEF: Murdoch Walker/Prob: Aakash Raju
Sentencing
01:30PM
3:06-cr-00644-CRB-7 - USA v. Yui-Pong Liu (Cantonese)
AUSA: Kirstin Ault / DEF: Steve Kalar/Prob: Kristen Coleman
Status re Supervised Release Violation
3:09-cr-00660-CRB-1 - USA v. Ulysses Tykee Davis
AUSA: Helen Gilbert / DEF: Carmen Smarandoiu/Prob: Charlie Mabie/Pretrial: Brad Wilson
Status Conference re Supervised Release /Pretrial Violation
3:09-cr-00966-CRB-1 - USA v. Danny San Nicolas
AUSA: Katherine Wawrzyniak / DEF: Candis Mitchell
Supervised Release Violation Hearing
3:14-cr-00489-CRB-1 - USA v. Joaquin Chavez-Navarro (Spanish)
AUSA: Matthew McCarthy / DEF: Charles Woodson
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:15-cr-00234-CRB-21 - USA v. Michael Inman
AUSA: Damali Taylor / DEF: Jai Gohel/Prob: Monica Romero
Sentencing
3:16-cr-00398-CRB-1 - USA v. John Anthony Rodgers (Custody)
AUSA: Kevin Barry / DEF: Daniel Blank
Change of Plea Hearing
3:16-cr-00479-CRB-1 - USA v. Jocelyn Kirsch
AUSA: Katherine Wawrzyniak / DEF: Douglas Rappaport/Prob: Jennifer James
Supervised Release Violation Hearing
3:17-cr-00174-CRB-1 - USA v. Antonio Medina (Spanish)(Custody)
AUSA: Brian Faerstein / DEF: George Boisseau
Sentencing
3:17-cr-00292-CRB - USA v. Joe Teplitz
Status Conference (Reptr)
Thursday, Jun 8 2017
01:30PM
3:04-cr-00023-CRB-1 - USA v. Marcelino Anguiano (Custody)
AUSA: Kevin Barry / DEF: Edward Swanson/Prob: Alan Alhstrand
Supervised Release Violation Hearing
3:05-cr-00303-CRB - USA v. Marcelino Anguiano
Revocation Superv Rls Hearing
3:12-cr-00619-CRB-1 - USA v. Derek Cobarruviaz (Custody)
AUSA: Meredith Osborn / DEF: Claire Leary/Prob: Aldonza Leal
Supervised Release Violation Hearing
3:15-cr-00016-CRB-1 - USA v. Jamillah Thompson
AUSA: Cynthia Stier / DEF: K. McClure
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:16-cr-00421-CRB-1 - USA v. Paul Bellazain
AUSA: Philip Kopczynski / DEF: K. McClure/Prob: Jill Spitalieri
Change of Plea/Status Conference re Criminal History Category
3:16-cr-00421-CRB-2 - USA v. Joseph Elwood Knighten
AUSA: Philip Kopczynski / DEF: Gilbert Eisenberg/Prob: Jill Spitalieri
Change of Plea/Status Conference re Criminal History Category
3:16-cr-00421-CRB-3 - USA v. Curtis Leon Jones
AUSA: Philip Kopczynski / DEF: Laurel Headley/Prob: Jill Spitalieri
Status Conference re Criminal History Category
3:17-cr-00175-CRB-1 - USA v. Eric Worthen
AUSA: Susan Badger / DEF: Shilpi Agarwal
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:17-cr-00175-CRB-2 - USA v. Taj Armon Reid
AUSA: Susan Badger / DEF: Darryl Stallworth
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:17-cr-00175-CRB-3 - USA v. Derf Butler
AUSA: Susan Badger / DEF: Petra Reinecke
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:17-cr-00175-CRB-4 - USA v. Anton Kalafati
AUSA: Susan Badger / DEF: Daniel Barton
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:17-cr-00175-CRB-5 - USA v. Clifton Burch
AUSA: Susan Badger / DEF: Eduardo Roy
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:17-cr-00175-CRB-6 - USA v. Peter McKean
AUSA: Susan Badger / DEF: Peter Goodman
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:17-cr-00175-CRB-7 - USA v. Len Turner
AUSA: Susan Badger / DEF: Dennis Riordan
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:17-cr-00175-CRB-8 - USA v. Lance Turner
AUSA: Susan Badger / DEF: Martha Boersch
Status Conference (Reptr)
Friday, Jun 9 2017
08:30AM
3:14-cv-05152-CRB - Brown-Seals v. C. De Los Santos et al.
Further Case Mgmt Conference
3:14-cv-05418-CRB - Asmus v. Pegasus Aviation Services, LLC
Further Case Mgmt Conference
3:16-cv-00601-CRB - Gosal v. Save Mart Supermarkets et al
Further Case Mgmt Conference
3:16-cv-02964-CRB - John Deming, Jr. et al v. City of Pleasanton et al
Further Case Mgmt Conference
3:16-cv-06264-CRB - Nusbaum v. City of Hayward, et al
Further Case Mgmt Conference
3:17-cv-00484-CRB - Francisco Guevara v. City of Menlo Park
Initial Case Mgmt Conference
10:00AM
3:14-cv-01416-CRB - Hendrickson v. Octagon, Inc.
Motion for Entry of Judgment under Rule 54(b)
3:14-cv-03352-CRB - Levin v. City and County of San Francisco
Motion for Relief from Judgment
3:17-cv-01133-CRB - JaM Cellars, Inc. v. Vintage Wine Estates, Inc.
Motion to Strike/Initial Case Management Conference
10:30AM
3:14-cr-00196-CRB-24 - USA v. Gary Kwong Yiu Chen
AUSA: William Frentzen / DEF: Jonathan Piper/Prob: Jill Spitalieri
Sentencing
3:14-cr-00196-CRB-25 - USA v. Anthony John Lai
AUSA: William Frentzen / DEF: Christopher Cannon/Prob: Jill Spitalieri
Sentencing
3:15-cr-00514-CRB-1 - USA v. Joseph Scott
AUSA: Laura Vartain Horn / DEF: Miranda Kane
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:15-cr-00234-CRB-37 - USA v. Ararat Yesayan
AUSA: Damali Taylor / DEF: Miranda Kane/Prob: Monica Romero
Sentencing
Tuesday, Jun 13 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Wednesday, Jun 14 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Thursday, Jun 15 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Friday, Jun 16 2017
08:30AM
3:14-cv-04136-CRB - Butler v. Brown et al
Further Case Mgmt Conference
10:00AM
3:16-cv-06844-CRB - Adobe Systems Incorporated v. Fraz Tanvir
Motion for Default Judgment - by the Court
3:17-cv-00635-CRB - California Parents for the Equalization of Educational Materials et al v. Torlakson et al
Initial Case Mgmt Conference
Motion to Dismiss
Tuesday, Jun 20 2017
01:30PM
3:12-cr-00276-CRB-1 - USA v. Lloyd Gage (Custody)
AUSA: Brian Faerstein / DEF: Elizabeth Falk/Prob: Tiffani Dyke
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:14-cr-00337-CRB-1 - USA v. Bobby Napier
AUSA: Adam Wright / DEF: David Cohen
Sentencing
3:14-cr-00476-CRB-1 - USA v. Michelle Jackson
AUSA: Benjamin Kingsley / DEF: Elizabeth Falk
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:15-cr-00041-CRB-4 - USA v. Terence Smith
AUSA: Michael Maffei / DEF: Deborah Levine
Status Conference re CAP
CRB - UNDERSEAL v. UNDERSEAL
3:16-cr-00178-CRB-1 - USA v. Michael Gerard Trent (Custody)
AUSA: Katherine Lloyd-Lovett / DEF: John Forsyth
Sentencing
3:17-cr-00044-CRB-1 - USA v. Wen Bing Lei (Custody)(Cantonese)
AUSA: William Frentzen / DEF: Mark Vermeulen
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:17-cr-00176-CRB-1 - USA v. Subhash Jay
AUSA: Michael Pitman / DEF: Brian Getz
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:17-cr-00264-CRB-1 - USA v. Lloyd Gage (Custody)
AUSA: Daniel Kaleba / DEF: Elizabeth Falk
Status Conference (Reptr)
Wednesday, Jun 21 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Thursday, Jun 22 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Friday, Jun 23 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Tuesday, Jun 27 2017
08:00AM
3:15-md-02672-CRB - In re: Volkswagen "Clean Diesel" Marketing, Sales Practices, and Products Liability Litigation
Motion to Dismiss
Status Conference
3:15-md-02672-CRB - In re: Volkswagen "Clean Diesel" Marketing, Sales Practices, and Products Liability Litigation
Motion to Dismiss
Status Conference
3:16-cv-03435-CRB - BRS v. Volkswagen AG et al
Motion to Dismiss
10:00AM
3:14-cr-00196-CRB - USA v. Rinn Roeun
Pretrial Conference
Wednesday, Jun 28 2017
10:00AM
CRB - UNDERSEAL v. UNDERSEAL
CRB - UNDERSEAL v. UNDERSEAL
CRB - UNDERSEAL v. UNDERSEAL
CRB - UNDERSEAL v. UNDERSEAL
3:15-cr-00514-CRB-2 - USA v. Jessica Scott
AUSA: Laura Vartain Horn / DEF: Julia Jayne
Sentencing
3:16-cr-00177-CRB-2 - USA v. Eduardo Lacayo (Spanish)
AUSA: Laura Vartain Horn / DEF: Mark Vermeulen
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:16-cr-00423-CRB-1 - USA v. John David Warbritton (Custody)
AUSA: Sheila Armbrust / DEF: Seth Chazin
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:17-cr-00259-CRB-1 - USA v. Bryan Petersen (Custody)
AUSA: Julie Garcia / DEF: Daniel Blank
Status Conference/Trial Setting
3:17-cr-00259-CRB-2 - USA v. Ryan Michael Spencer (Custody)
AUSA: Julie Garcia / DEF: Christopher Parkhurst
Status Conference/Trial Setting
Thursday, Jun 29 2017
01:30PM
3:13-cr-00515-CRB-1 - USA v. Ryan Alan Balletto (Custody)
AUSA: Kevin Barry / DEF: James Thomson
Change of Plea Hearing
3:13-cr-00515-CRB-2 - USA v. Patrick Steven Pearmain (Custody)
AUSA: Kevin Barry / DEF: Robert Waggener
Change of Plea Hearing
Friday, Jun 30 2017
08:30AM
3:16-cv-03314-CRB - Torres et al v. Pittsburg Unified School District et al
Further Case Mgmt Conference
10:00AM
3:15-md-02672-CRB - In re: Volkswagen "Clean Diesel" Marketing, Sales Practices, and Products Liability Litigation
Motion to Dismiss
3:16-cv-06736-CRB - Fichmann v. Volkswagen Group of America, Inc.
Motion to Dismiss
3:17-cv-00998-CRB - Erickson Productions Inc v. MN Airlines LLC d/b/a Sun Country Airlines
Motion to Dismiss/Case Management Conference
Monday, Jul 3 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Tuesday, Jul 4 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Wednesday, Jul 5 2017
10:00AM
CRB - UNDERSEAL v. UNDERSEAL
01:30PM
3:16-cr-00171-CRB-1 - USA v. Parnian Djfarzadeh
AUSA: Thomas Moore / DEF: Douglas Horngrad
Change of Plea Hearing
3:16-cr-00484-CRB-1 - USA v. Sean Krishanmakoto Sharma
AUSA: Cynthia Frey / DEF: Edwin Prather
Change of Plea Hearing
3:17-cr-00118-CRB-1 - USA v. Juan Antonio Otero
AUSA: Meredith Osborn / DEF: Candis Mitchell
Status Conference (Reptr)
Thursday, Jul 6 2017
10:00AM
3:14-cr-00362-CRB-1 - USA v. Kevin Duane Johansen (Custody)
AUSA: Lloyd Farnham/DEF: Erin Crane/Probation: Cristopher Taylor
Sentencing on Supervised Release Violation Hearing
Friday, Jul 7 2017
08:30AM
3:14-cv-03165-CRB - SW Logistics Inc v. Evermetal Inc. et al
Further Case Mgmt Conference
 
 
View Calendar


HONORABLE CHARLES R. BREYER                                                      Courtroom 6, 17th Floor    San Francisco, CA

COURT SCHEDULE:
Case Management ConferencesFriday 8:30 a.m.
Civil Law and Motions:  Friday 10:00 a.m.  
Criminal Calendar:  Wednesday at 10:00 a.m. Sentencing and 1:30 p.m.
 for all other matters
Pre Trial Conference: Tuesday or Thursday 2:30 p.m.
Trials: Mon, Tues, Thurs 9:00 am. to 4:00 pm.; Wed 9:00 am. to 1:30 p.m.

Effective January 1, 2017, Judge Breyer’s weekly criminal law and motion calendar are on Wednesdays at 1:30 p.m. for both in and out of custody defendants. Sentencing hearings will remain on Wednesdays at 10:00 a.m.

Judge Breyer does not issue tentative rulings.

IMPORTANT REMINDER:
In all "E-Filing" cases, in addition to filing papers electronically, the parties are required to provide chambers a paper copy of each document that is electronically filed no later than noon the day following the date document was electronically filed. Note: These deadlines differ from those in Civil Local Rule 5-1(e)(7)(A).  These printed copies must be marked "Chambers Copy", and must be delivered to the Clerk's Office, in an envelope clearly marked with the judge's name, case number, and "Chambers Copy-Do Not File."


Hearing dates may be continued pursuant to stipulation and order (Civil Local Rule 6-2) conforming to Civil Local Rule 7-12 or by motion (Civil Local Rule 6-3).

All Proposed Orders MUST be submitted in Word format to Judge Breyer's proposed order email address at crbpo@cand.uscourts.gov.


NOTICE OF UNAVAILABILITY for U.S. SENIOR DISTRICT JUDGE CHARLES R. BREYER from December 2016 through December 2017.


Monday, Dec 12 (from noon);

Wednesday, Dec 14 thru Thursday, Dec 15;

Tuesday, Dec 27 thru Friday, Dec 30;

Wednesday, Jan 25 thru Friday Jan 27;

Monday, Jan 30 thru Tuesday, Jan 31;

Wednesday, Feb 2 thru Thursday, Feb 3;

Tuesday, Feb 14 thru Feb 15;

Wednesday, March 8 thru Friday, March 10;

Tuesday, March 14 thru Thursday, March 16;

Wednesday, March 29 thru Friday March 31;

Wednesday, April 5 thru Thursday April 6;

Monday, April 17 thru Wednesday, April 19;

Monday, May 1 thru Tuesday, May 2;

Wednesday, May 24 thru Friday May 26;

Wednesday, May 31;

Thursday, June 1 thru Friday June 2;

Wednesday, June 21 thru Friday June 23;

Monday, July 17 thru Thursday, July 20;

Wednesday, July 26 thru Friday, July 28;

Wednesday, Sept. 27 thru Friday, Sept. 29;

Wednesday, Oct 18 thru Friday, Oct 20;

Monday, Oct 30 thru Tuesday, Oct 31;

Wednesday, Nov 1;

Wednesday, Nov 29 thru Nov 30;

Friday, Dec 1.

All Counsel are hereby given notice that they may, if urgency requires, request a hearing on any case assigned to Judge Charles R. Breyer, before the General Duty Judge pursuant to Civil Local Rule 7-1(c).

Courtroom Deputy,
Lashanda Scott