Calendar for: Judge Charles R. Breyer
Courtroom 6, 17th Floor
Courtroom Deputy: Lashanda Scott


Last Updated: Mar 27 2017 1:32AM
View Scheduling Notes
Monday, Mar 27 2017
09:00AM
3:cr-16-00132-CRB - USA v. Charles Burn
AUSA: Andrew Dawson and Julie Garcia/Def: Shilpi Agarwal and Elizabeth Falk
Jury Selection
02:30PM
CRB - UNDERSEAL v. UNDERSEAL
Tuesday, Mar 28 2017
01:30PM
3:15-cr-00514-CRB-2 - USA v. Jessica Scott
AUSA: Laura Vartain Horn / DEF: Julia Jayne
Status Conference (Reptr)
02:30PM
3:16-cr-00132-CRB - USA v. Charles Burns
Motion in Limine
Motion to Compel
3:16-cr-00132-CRB-1 - USA v. Charles Burns
AUSA: Andrew Dawson / DEF: Shilpi Agarwal
Pretrial Conference
Wednesday, Mar 29 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Thursday, Mar 30 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Friday, Mar 31 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Monday, Apr 3 2017
09:00AM
3:16-cr-00132-CRB-1 - USA v. Charles Burns
AUSA: Andrew Dawson / DEF: Shilpi Agarwal
Jury Trial
Tuesday, Apr 4 2017
09:00AM
3:16-cr-00132-CRB-1 - USA v. Charles Burns
AUSA: Andrew Dawson / DEF: Shilpi Agarwal
Jury Trial
01:30PM
3:09-cr-00660-CRB-1 - USA v. Ulysses Tykee Davis
AUSA: Helen Gilbert / DEF: Carmen Smarandoiu/Prob: Charlie Mabie/Pretrial: Brad Wilson
Supervised Release Hearing
3:10-cr-00634-CRB-1 - USA v. Michael Tsan
AUSA: William Frentzen / DEF: Randy Pollock/Prob: Kevin Maynor
Status re Supervised Release Violation Hearing
3:14-cr-00196-CRB-27 - USA v. Zhanghao Wu (Mandarin)
AUSA: William Frentzen / DEF: Laura Robinson
Status Conference (Reptr) -Defendant's Appearance Waived
3:15-cr-00016-CRB-1 - USA v. Jamillah Thompson
AUSA: Cynthia Stier / DEF: K. McClure
Status Conference re Referral to CAPS Program-Released on 2/17/17
3:16-cr-00421-CRB-1 - USA v. Paul Bellazain
AUSA: Philip Kopczynski / DEF: Alexandra McClure
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:16-cr-00421-CRB-2 - USA v. Joseph Elwood Knighten
AUSA: Philip Kopczynski / DEF: Gilbert Eisenberg
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:16-cr-00421-CRB-3 - USA v. Curtis Leon Jones
AUSA: Philip Kopczynski / DEF: Gabriela Bischof
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:16-cr-00430-CRB-1 - USA v. Terrance Green Johnson
AUSA: Meredith Osborn / DEF: Colin Cooper
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:16-cr-00484-CRB-1 - USA v. Sean Krishanmakoto Sharma
AUSA: Cynthia Frey / DEF: Edwin Prather
Status Conference (Reptr) - Defendant's Appearance Waived
3:17-cr-00044-CRB-1 - USA v. Wen Bing Lei (Custody) (Cantonese)
AUSA: William Frentzen / DEF: Mark Vermeulen
Status Conference (Reptr)
Wednesday, Apr 5 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Thursday, Apr 6 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Friday, Apr 7 2017
08:30AM
3:14-cv-04136-CRB - Butler v. Brown et al
Further Case Mgmt Conference
3:15-cv-05531-CRB - Miao v. Preferred Restaurant Brands, Inc. et al
Further Case Mgmt Conference
3:16-cv-00601-CRB - Gosal v. Save Mart Supermarkets et al
Further Case Mgmt Conference - Case Settled before Judge Kim
3:16-cv-05161-CRB - Durant v. Enginious Structures, Inc.
Further Case Mgmt Conference - Case settled in Mediation
10:00AM
3:14-cv-01224-CRB - In re: GERON CORPORATION SECURITIES LITIGATION
Motion for Settlement
3:16-cv-06942-CRB - Calloway et al v. Oakland Unified School District et al
Motion to Compel/Case Management Conference
Tuesday, Apr 11 2017
10:00AM
3:16-cr-00299-CRB-1 - USA v. Travon Jacobs (Custody)
AUSA: Helen Gilbert and Christiaan Highsmith/ DEF: Galia Amram and Ellen Leonida
Status Conference re Trial Setting
Wednesday, Apr 12 2017
10:00AM
3:14-cr-00167-CRB-1 - USA v. Celia Atkinson
AUSA: Katherine Lloyd-Lovett / DEF: David Shapiro
Sentencing
3:14-cr-00196-CRB-26 - USA v. Tong Zhao Zhang (Mandarin)
AUSA: William Frentzen / DEF: Josh Cohen
Sentencing
3:15-cr-00041-CRB-1 - USA v. Eric Smith
AUSA: Michael Maffei / DEF: Richard Mazer
Sentencing
CRB - UNDERSEAL v. UNDERSEAL
3:16-cr-00145-CRB-1 - USA v. Antonio Marin (Custody)
AUSA: William Edelman / DEF: Gabriela Bischof
Sentencing
01:30PM
3:14-cr-00362-CRB-1 - USA v. Kevin Duane Johansen (Custody)
AUSA: Llyod Farnham/DEF: Erin Crane/Prob: Robert Tenney
Status re Supervised Release Violation
3:14-cr-00489-CRB-1 - USA v. Joaquin Chavez-Navarro (Spanish)
AUSA: Matthew McCarthy / DEF: Charles Woodson
Status re Neuropsychological Evaluation
3:16-cr-00063-CRB-1 - USA v. Alan Weissman
AUSA: Benjamin Kingsley / DEF: David Johanson
Change of Plea Hearing
3:16-cr-00171-CRB-1 - USA v. Parnian Djfarzadeh
AUSA: Thomas Moore / DEF: Douglas Horngrad
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:16-cr-00398-CRB-1 - USA v. John Anthony Rodgers
AUSA: Kevin Barry / DEF: Elliot Silver
Motion to Suppress
Friday, Apr 14 2017
08:30AM
3:16-cv-03314-CRB - Torres et al v. Pittsburg Unified School District et al
Initial Case Mgmt Conference
Monday, Apr 17 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Tuesday, Apr 18 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Wednesday, Apr 19 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Thursday, Apr 20 2017
01:30PM
3:14-cr-00196-CRB-11 - USA v. Rinn Roeun (Custody)
AUSA: William Frentzen / DEF: Erick Guzman
Motion Hearing
3:14-cr-00196-CRB-28 - USA v. Barry Blackwell House
AUSA: William Frentzen / DEF: Elizabeth Falk
Motion to Suppress
3:14-cr-00196-CRB - USA v. Barry House
Motion to Sever Defendant
3:17-cr-00048-CRB - USA v. Rossten Stroude
Status Conference (Reptr)
02:00PM
3:16-cr-00412-CRB-1 - USA v. Michael Anthony Howard, Jr. (Custody)
AUSA: Andrew Dawson / DEF: Sara Rief
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:17-cr-00005-CRB-1 - USA v. Willie Wiley
AUSA: Karen Kreuzkamp / DEF: Jodi Linker
Motion to Suppress
02:30PM
3:14-cv-05418-CRB - Asmus v. Pegasus Aviation Services, LLC
Pretrial Conference
3:15-cr-00529-CRB-1 - USA v. Wing Wo Ma (Custody)(Cantonese)
AUSA: Damali Taylor / DEF: Adam Gasner
Pretrial Conference
3:15-cr-00529-CRB-3 - USA v. Jeffrey Huynh (Cantonese)
AUSA: Damali Taylor / DEF: Adam Pennella
Pretrial Conference
3:15-cr-00529-CRB-2 - USA v. Kevin Luu
AUSA: Damali Taylor / DEF: George Boisseau
Pretrial Conference
3:15-cr-00529-CRB-4 - USA v. Chanh Hoang (Vietnamese)
AUSA: Damali Taylor / DEF: Erick Guzman
Pretrial Conference
Friday, Apr 21 2017
08:30AM
3:12-cv-02793-CRB - Erler v. Erler (pro se)
Further Case Mgmt Conference
3:14-cv-05152-CRB - Brown-Seals v. C. De Los Santos et al.
Further Case Mgmt Conference
10:00AM
3:15-md-02672-CRB - In re: Volkswagen "Clean Diesel" Marketing, Sales Practices, and Products Liability Litigation
Motion for Summary Judgment
Monday, Apr 24 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Tuesday, Apr 25 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Wednesday, Apr 26 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Thursday, Apr 27 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Friday, Apr 28 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Monday, May 1 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
09:00AM
3:14-cv-05418-CRB - Asmus v. Pegasus Aviation Services, LLC
Jury Selection
Jury Trial
Tuesday, May 2 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Wednesday, May 3 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Thursday, May 4 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Friday, May 5 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
10:00AM
3:15-md-02672-CRB - In re: Volkswagen "Clean Diesel" Marketing, Sales Practices, and Products Liability Litigation
Motion to Set Aside Judgment
Monday, May 8 2017
09:00AM
3:15-cr-00529-CRB-1 - USA v. Wing Wo Ma (Cantonese)
AUSA: Damali Taylor / DEF: Adam Gasner
Jury Selection/ Trial
3:15-cr-00529-CRB-3 - USA v. Jeffrey Huynh (Cantonese)
AUSA: Damali Taylor / DEF: Adam Pennella
Jury Selection/ Trial
3:15-cr-00529-CRB-2 - USA v. Kevin Luu
AUSA: Damali Taylor / DEF: George Boisseau
Jury Selection/ Trial
3:15-cr-00529-CRB-4 - USA v. Chanh Hoang (Vietnamese)
AUSA: Damali Taylor / DEF: Erick Guzman
Jury Selection/ Trial
 
 
View Calendar


HONORABLE CHARLES R. BREYER                                                      Courtroom 6, 17th Floor    San Francisco, CA

COURT SCHEDULE:
Case Management ConferencesFriday 8:30 a.m.
Civil Law and Motions:  Friday 10:00 a.m.  
Criminal Calendar:  Wednesday at 10:00 a.m. Sentencing and 1:30 p.m.
 for all other matters
Pre Trial Conference: Tuesday or Thursday 2:30 p.m.
Trials: Mon, Tues, Thurs 9:00 am. to 4:00 pm.; Wed 9:00 am. to 1:30 p.m.

Effective January 1, 2017, Judge Breyer’s weekly criminal law and motion calendar are on Wednesdays at 1:30 p.m. for both in and out of custody defendants. Sentencing hearings will remain on Wednesdays at 10:00 a.m.

Judge Breyer does not issue tentative rulings.

IMPORTANT REMINDER:
In all "E-Filing" cases, in addition to filing papers electronically, the parties are required to provide chambers a paper copy of each document that is electronically filed no later than noon the day following the date document was electronically filed. Note: These deadlines differ from those in Civil Local Rule 5-1(e)(7)(A).  These printed copies must be marked "Chambers Copy", and must be delivered to the Clerk's Office, in an envelope clearly marked with the judge's name, case number, and "Chambers Copy-Do Not File."


Hearing dates may be continued pursuant to stipulation and order (Civil Local Rule 6-2) conforming to Civil Local Rule 7-12 or by motion (Civil Local Rule 6-3).

All Proposed Orders MUST be submitted in Word format to Judge Breyer's proposed order email address at crbpo@cand.uscourts.gov.


NOTICE OF UNAVAILABILITY for U.S. SENIOR DISTRICT JUDGE CHARLES R. BREYER from December 2016 through December 2017.


Monday, Dec 12 (from noon);

Wednesday, Dec 14 thru Thursday, Dec 15;

Tuesday, Dec 27 thru Friday, Dec 30;

Wednesday, Jan 25 thru Friday Jan 27;

Monday, Jan 30 thru Tuesday, Jan 31;

Wednesday, Feb 2 thru Thursday, Feb 3;

Tuesday, Feb 14 thru Feb 15;

Wednesday, March 8 thru Friday, March 10;

Tuesday, March 14 thru Thursday, March 16;

Wednesday, March 29 thru Friday March 31;

Wednesday, April 5 thru Thursday April 6;

Monday, April 17 thru Wednesday, April 19;

Wednesday, April 26 thru Friday, April 28;

Monday, May 1 thru Tuesday, May 2;

Wednesday, May 24 thru Friday May 26;

Wednesday, May 31;

Thursday, June 1 thru Friday June 2;

Wednesday, June 21 thru Friday June 23;

Monday, July 17 thru Thursday, July 20;

Wednesday, July 26 thru Friday, July 28;

Wednesday, Sept. 27 thru Friday, Sept. 29;

Wednesday, Oct 18 thru Friday, Oct 20;

Monday, Oct 30 thru Tuesday, Oct 31;

Wednesday, Nov 1;

Wednesday, Nov 29 thru Nov 30;

Friday, Dec 1.

All Counsel are hereby given notice that they may, if urgency requires, request a hearing on any case assigned to Judge Charles R. Breyer, before the General Duty Judge pursuant to Civil Local Rule 7-1(c).

Courtroom Deputy,
Lashanda Scott