Calendar for: Judge Charles R. Breyer
Courtroom 6, 17th Floor
Courtroom Deputy: Lashanda Scott


Last Updated: Feb 17 2017 4:30PM
View Scheduling Notes
Friday, Feb 17 2017
10:00AM
3:16-cv-01490-CRB - Heifetz v. Breed Properties et al
Motion for Default Judgment Hearing
Monday, Feb 20 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Tuesday, Feb 21 2017
09:30AM
3:16-cr-00299-CRB-1 - USA v. Travon Jacobs (Custody)
AUSA: Helen Gilbert / DEF: Galia Amram
Evidentiary Hearing
Wednesday, Feb 22 2017
01:30PM
3:10-cr-00634-CRB-1 - USA v. Michael Tsan
AUSA: Derek Owens / DEF: Randy Pollock/Prob: Kevin Maynor
Status Conference re Supervised Release Violation Hearing
3:15-cr-00259-CRB-1 - USA v. Krisinda Messer
AUSA: Cynthia Stier / DEF: Douglas Horngrad
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:16-cr-00041-CRB-1 - USA v. Ebony Standifer (Custody)
AUSA: Thomas Newman / DEF: Michael Stepanian
Change of Plea Hearing
3:16-cr-00171-CRB-1 - USA v. Parnian Djfarzadeh
AUSA: Thomas Moore / DEF: Douglas Horngrad
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:16-cr-00423-CRB-1 - USA v. John David Warbritton (Cusotdy)
AUSA: Sheila Armbrust / DEF: Seth Chazin
Status Conference (Reptr) - Stipo to continue to 3/22
3:17-cr-00011-CRB-1 - USA v. Latrice Hawkins Washington
AUSA: Karen Kreuzkamp / DEF: Jodi Linker
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:17-cr-00044-CRB-1 - USA v. Wen Bing Lei (Custody)(Cantonese)
AUSA: William Frentzen / DEF: Mark Vermeulen
Status Conference (Reptr)
Friday, Feb 24 2017
08:30AM
3:16-cv-02964-CRB - John Deming, Jr. et al v. City of Pleasanton et al
Further Case Mgmt Conference
3:16-cv-05465-CRB - Look v. Harris et al
Initial Case Mgmt Conference
3:16-cv-06844-CRB - Adobe Systems Incorporated v. Fraz Tanvir
Initial Case Mgmt Conference
Monday, Feb 27 2017
09:00AM
CRB - UNDERSEAL v. UNDERSEAL
09:30AM
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Joseph Giraudo
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Raymond Grinsell
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Kevin Cullinane
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. James Appendrodt
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Abraham Farag
Evidentiary Hearing
Tuesday, Feb 28 2017
09:30AM
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Joseph Giraudo
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Raymond Grinsell
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Kevin Cullinane
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. James Appendrodt
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Abraham Farag
Evidentiary Hearing
Wednesday, Mar 1 2017
09:30AM
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Joseph Giraudo
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Raymond Grinsell
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Kevin Cullinane
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. James Appendrodt
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Abraham Farag
Evidentiary Hearing
01:30PM
3:08-cr-00569-CRB - USA v. Crystal Anthony
AUSA: Sarah Hawkins/DEF: Daniel Blank/Prob: Jenna Russo
Status re Supervised Release
3:14-cr-00173-CRB-1 - USA v. Joseph Caradine (Custody)
AUSA: Benjamin Tolkoff / DEF: Brandon LeBlanc
Motion for Miscellaneous Relief
3:14-cr-00196-CRB-15 - USA v. Jane Miao Xhen Liang
AUSA: William Frentzen / DEF: Jai Gohel
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:14-cr-00196-CRB-27 - USA v. Zhanghao Wu (Mandarin)
AUSA: William Frentzen / DEF: Laura Robinson - Defendant's Appearance Waived
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:14-cr-00218-CRB-1 - USA v. Raziel Angellus Kainne
AUSA: Philip Kearney / DEF: Anthony Brass
Sentencing
3:15-cr-00362-CRB-1 - USA v. Ulices Cazarez (Custody)
AUSA: Scott Joiner / DEF: Kenneth Wine
Sentencing
3:16-cr-00063-CRB-1 - USA v. Alan Weissman
AUSA: Benjamin Kingsley / DEF: David Johanson
Change of Plea Hearing
3:17-cr-0065-CRB - USA v. Barry Clinton Williams
AUSA: Kyle Waldinger/DEF: Murdoch Walker
Change of Plea
02:00PM
3:15-cr-00359-CRB-1 - USA v. Brian Peter Stallings
AUSA: Jose Olivera / DEF: Martin Schainbaum
Motion Hearing re Competency/Trial set for May 8, 2017
Thursday, Mar 2 2017
09:30AM
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Joseph Giraudo
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Raymond Grinsell
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Kevin Cullinane
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. James Appendrodt
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Abraham Farag
Evidentiary Hearing
Friday, Mar 3 2017
08:30AM
3:14-cv-03165-CRB - SW Logistics Inc v. Evermetal Inc. et al
Further Case Mgmt Conference
3:14-cv-05152-CRB - Brown-Seals v. C. De Los Santos et al.
Further Case Mgmt Conference
09:30AM
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Joseph Giraudo
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Raymond Grinsell
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Kevin Cullinane
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. James Appendrodt
Evidentiary Hearing
3:14-cr-00534-CRB - USA v. Abraham Farag
Evidentiary Hearing
10:00AM
3:14-cv-00669-CRB - Moore v. City of Berkeley et al
Motion to Strike Jury Demand
3:14-cv-02513-CRB - Citizens for Free Speech, LLC et al v. County of Alameda
Motion for Attorney Fees
3:16-cv-03819-CRB - Carol Thomas (pro se) v. San Francisco Housing Authority et al
Motion to Dismiss
3:16-cv-05595-CRB - Hamrol v. Contra Costa County
Motion to Dismiss/Case Management Conference
Tuesday, Mar 7 2017
01:30PM
3:14-cr-00196-CRB-8 - USA v. Xiao Cheng Mei
AUSA: William Frentzen / DEF: Doron Weinberg
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:15-cr-00136-CRB-1 - USA v. Matthew Hansen
AUSA: Sarah Hawkins / DEF: Gabriela Bischof
Status Conference (Reptr)
CRB - UNDERSEAL v. UNDERSEAL
3:16-cr-00297-CRB-1 - USA v. Kiet Ly (Custody)
AUSA: Andrew Dawson / DEF: Daniel Blank
Sentencing
Wednesday, Mar 8 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Thursday, Mar 9 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Friday, Mar 10 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Tuesday, Mar 14 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Wednesday, Mar 15 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Thursday, Mar 16 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Friday, Mar 17 2017
08:30AM
3:16-cv-06942-CRB - Calloway et al v. Oakland Unified School District et al
Initial Case Mgmt Conference
10:00AM
3:14-cv-01416-CRB - Hendrickson v. Octagon, Inc.
Motion for Entry of Judgment under Rule 54(b)
3:14-cv-01417-CRB - LaBoy v. Octagon, Inc.
Motion for Entry of Judgment under Rule 54(b)
3:15-md-02672-CRB - In re: Volkswagen "Clean Diesel" Marketing, Sales Practices, and Products Liability Litigation
Motion for Miscellaneous Relief
Motion to Enforce Judgment
3:16-cv-06942-CRB - Calloway et al v. Oakland Unified School District et al
Motion to Compel/Joinder filed by Oakland Unified School District (23)/Joinder filed by Kamaljot Kaur(24)
3:17-cv-00057-CRB - Doe v. Moraga School District et al
Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings
Tuesday, Mar 21 2017
01:30PM
3:16-cr-00177-CRB-2 - USA v. Eduardo Lacayo (Spanish)
AUSA: Laura Vartain Horn / DEF: Mark Vermeulen
Change of Plea Hearing
Wednesday, Mar 22 2017
10:00AM
3:14-cr-00538-CRB-1 - USA v. Ebony Standifer (Custody)
AUSA: Thomas Newman / DEF: Michael Stepanian
Sentencing - To be continued May awaiting stipulation
3:15-cr-00041-CRB-1 - USA v. Eric Smith
AUSA: Michael Maffei / DEF: Richard Mazer
Sentencing
3:15-cr-00591-CRB-1 - USA v. Dublandu Alemu (Custody)
AUSA: Laura Vartain Horn / DEF: Steve Kalar
Sentencing
3:16-cr-00138-CRB-2 - USA v. Markita Harvey
AUSA: Jerome Mayer-Cantu / DEF: James Vaughns
Change of Plea Hearing
01:30PM
3:06-cr-00644-CRB-7 - USA v. Yui-Pong Liu (Cantonese)
AUSA: Kirstin Ault / DEF: Steve Kalar/Prob: Kristen Colemen
Status re Supervised Release Violation Hearing
3:10-cr-00393-CRB-1 - USA v. Onyea Nwaonumah
AUSA: Robin Harris / DEF: Steve Kalar/Prob: Michael McFarland
Supervised Release Violation Hearing
3:11-cr-00797-CRB-1 - USA v. James Doherty
AUSA: Albert Sambat / DEF: Brian Getz
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:11-cr-00798-CRB-1 - USA v. Keith Goodman
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:11-cr-00799-CRB-1 - USA v. Craig Lipton
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:11-cr-00800-CRB-1 - USA v. Troy Kent
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:11-cr-00801-CRB-1 - USA v. Laith Salma
AUSA: Albert Sambat / DEF: Lisa Tenorio-Kutzkey
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:11-cr-00795-CRB-1 - USA v. Gary Anderson
AUSA: Albert Sambat / DEF: Gregory Goldberg
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:11-cr-00796-CRB-1 - USA v. Patrick Michael Campion
AUSA: Albert Sambat / DEF: Julia Jayne
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:11-cr-00802-CRB-1 - USA v. Henri Pessah
AUSA: Albert Sambat / DEF: George O'Connell
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:12-cr-00300-CRB-1 - USA v. Matthew Worthing
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:12-cr-00301-CRB-1 - USA v. Lydia Fong
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:12-cr-00785-CRB-1 - USA v. Norman Montalvo
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:13-cr-00069-CRB-1 - USA v. Gilbert Chung (Custody)
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:13-cr-00246-CRB-1 - USA v. Mohammed Rezaian
AUSA: Albert Sambat / DEF: Lyn Agre
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:13-cr-00388-CRB-1 - USA v. Robert Williams
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:13-cr-00515-CRB-1 - USA v. Ryan Alan Balletto (Custody)
AUSA: Kevin Barry / DEF: James Thomson
Change of Plea Hearing
3:13-cr-00515-CRB-2 - USA v. Patrick Steven Pearmain
AUSA: Kevin Barry / DEF: Robert Waggener
Change of Plea Hearing
3:13-cr-00587-CRB-1 - USA v. Daniel Rosenbledt
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:13-cr-00670-CRB-1 - USA v. Kuo Hsuan "Chuck" Chang
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:13-cr-00805-CRB-1 - USA v. Florence Fung
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:13-cr-00804-CRB-1 - USA v. Michael Navone
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:15-cr-00041-CRB-4 - USA v. Terence Smith
AUSA: Michael Maffei / DEF: Deborah Levine
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:15-cr-00514-CRB-1 - USA v. Joseph Scott
AUSA: Laura Vartain Horn / DEF: Miranda Kane
Status Conference
3:16-cr-00179-CRB-1 - USA v. Francis Paul Chick (Custody)
AUSA: Katherine Lloyd-Lovett and Shailika Kotiya / DEF: Edwin Prather and Max Mizono
Change of Plea Hearing
3:16-cr-00421-CRB-1 - USA v. Paul Bellazain
AUSA: Philip Kopczynski / DEF: K. McClure
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:16-cr-00421-CRB-2 - USA v. Joseph Elwood Knighten
AUSA: Philip Kopczynski / DEF: Gilbert Eisenberg
Status Conference (Reptr)
3:16-cr-00421-CRB-3 - USA v. Curtis Leon Jones
AUSA: Philip Kopczynski / DEF: Gabriela Bischof
Status Conference (Reptr)
02:00PM
CRB - UNDERSEAL v. UNDERSEAL
Friday, Mar 24 2017
08:30AM
3:16-cv-04057-CRB - Rondinelli Reilly v. San Francisco Urban Adventure Club et al
Initial Case Mgmt Conference
10:00AM
3:09-cv-00750-CRB - Mcintosh v. Holder et al
Motion Hearing
3:15-cv-04084-CRB - Blizzard Entertainment, Inc. et al v. Lilith Games (Shanghai) Co. Ltd. et al
Motion for Partial Summary Judgment
Motion for Sanctions
Tuesday, Mar 28 2017
01:30PM
3:15-cr-00514-CRB-2 - USA v. Jessica Scott
AUSA: Laura Vartain Horn / DEF: Julia Jayne
Status Conference (Reptr)
02:30PM
3:16-cr-00132-CRB-1 - USA v. Charles Burns
AUSA: Andrew Dawson / DEF: Shilpi Agarwal
Pretrial Conference
Wednesday, Mar 29 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Thursday, Mar 30 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Friday, Mar 31 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
 
 
View Calendar


HONORABLE CHARLES R. BREYER                                                      Courtroom 6, 17th Floor    San Francisco, CA

COURT SCHEDULE:
Case Management ConferencesFriday 8:30 a.m.
Civil Law and Motions:  Friday 10:00 a.m.  
Criminal Calendar:  Wednesday at 10:00 a.m. Sentencing and 1:30 p.m.
 for all other matters
Pre Trial Conference: Tuesday or Thursday 2:30 p.m.
Trials: Mon, Tues, Thurs 9:00 am. to 4:00 pm.; Wed 9:00 am. to 1:30 p.m.

Effective January 1, 2017, Judge Breyer’s weekly criminal law and motion calendar are on Wednesdays at 1:30 p.m. for both in and out of custody defendants. Sentencing hearings will remain on Wednesdays at 10:00 a.m.

Judge Breyer does not issue tentative rulings.

IMPORTANT REMINDER:
In all "E-Filing" cases, in addition to filing papers electronically, the parties are required to provide chambers a paper copy of each document that is electronically filed no later than noon the day following the date document was electronically filed. Note: These deadlines differ from those in Civil Local Rule 5-1(e)(7)(A).  These printed copies must be marked "Chambers Copy", and must be delivered to the Clerk's Office, in an envelope clearly marked with the judge's name, case number, and "Chambers Copy-Do Not File."


Hearing dates may be continued pursuant to stipulation and order (Civil Local Rule 6-2) conforming to Civil Local Rule 7-12 or by motion (Civil Local Rule 6-3).

All Proposed Orders MUST be submitted in Word format to Judge Breyer's proposed order email address at crbpo@cand.uscourts.gov.


NOTICE OF UNAVAILABILITY for U.S. SENIOR DISTRICT JUDGE CHARLES R. BREYER from December 2016 through December 2017.


Monday, Dec 12 (from noon);

Wednesday, Dec 14 thru Thursday, Dec 15;

Tuesday, Dec 27 thru Friday, Dec 30;

Wednesday, Jan 25 thru Friday Jan 27;

Monday, Jan 30 thru Tuesday, Jan 31;

Wednesday, Feb 2 thru Thursday, Feb 3;

Tuesday, Feb 14 thru Feb 15;

Wednesday, March 8 thru Friday, March 10;

Tuesday, March 14 thru Thursday, March 16;

Wednesday, March 29 thru Friday March 31;

Wednesday, April 5 thru Thursday April 6;

Monday, April 17 thru Wednesday, April 19;

Wednesday, April 26 thru Friday, April 28;

Monday, May 1 thru Tuesday, May 2;

Wednesday, May 24 thru Friday May 26;

Wednesday, May 31;

Thursday, June 1 thru Friday June 2;

Wednesday, June 21 thru Friday June 23;

Monday, July 17 thru Thursday, July 20;

Wednesday, July 26 thru Friday, July 28;

Wednesday, Sept. 27 thru Friday, Sept. 29;

Wednesday, Oct 18 thru Friday, Oct 20;

Monday, Oct 30 thru Tuesday, Oct 31;

Wednesday, Nov 1;

Wednesday, Nov 29 thru Nov 30;

Friday, Dec 1.

All Counsel are hereby given notice that they may, if urgency requires, request a hearing on any case assigned to Judge Charles R. Breyer, before the General Duty Judge pursuant to Civil Local Rule 7-1(c).

Courtroom Deputy,
Lashanda Scott