Calendar for: Magistrate Judge Susan van Keulen
Courtroom 6, 4th Floor
Courtroom Deputy: Oscar Rivera


Last Updated: Oct 22 2017 8:27AM
View Scheduling Notes
Monday, Oct 23 2017
- MAGISTRATE JUDGE SUSAN VAN KEULEN COVERING CRIMINAL DUTY FOR MAGISTRATE JUDGE NATHANAEL COUSINS. ALL CRIMINAL DUTY MATTERS WILL BE HEARD AT 1:30 PM IN COURTROOM 6, 4TH FLOOR
01:30PM
5:17-cr-00242-EJD-1 - USA v. Bryn Hanley (NC)
AUSA: Christopher Vieira / DEF: Rhona Taylor
Bail Review Hearing
5:17-cr-00520-LHK-6 - USA v. Nestor Tavarez (C)
AUSA: Jeffrey Backhus / DEF: Jay Rorty
Detention Hearing
Tuesday, Oct 24 2017
- MAGISTRATE JUDGE SUSAN VAN KEULEN COVERING CRIMINAL DUTY FOR MAGISTRATE JUDGE NATHANAEL COUSINS. ALL CRIMINAL DUTY MATTERS WILL BE HEARD AT 1:30 PM IN COURTROOM 6, 4TH FLOOR
10:00AM
5:17-cv-03385-SVK - Lininger v. Pfleger et al
Motion to Dismiss
Wednesday, Oct 25 2017
- Judge Unavailable - All Day
Thursday, Oct 26 2017
- MAGISTRATE JUDGE SUSAN VAN KEULEN COVERING CRIMINAL DUTY FOR MAGISTRATE JUDGE NATHANAEL COUSINS. ALL CRIMINAL DUTY MATTERS WILL BE HEARD AT 1:30 PM IN COURTROOM 6, 4TH FLOOR
01:30PM
5:17-cr-00441-BLF-1 - USA v. Gilberto Moreno Valdez (C, Writ)
AUSA: Brian Cabrera /DEF:
Initial Appearance and Arraignment on Indictment
5:17-mj-71312-MAG-1 - USA v. Peter C. Chang (NC)
AUSA: Lloyd Farnham / DEF: David Callaway
Preliminary Hearing / Arraignment
5:17-cr-00520-LHK-5 - USA v. Jesus Bernal Nunez (C)
AUSA: Jeffrey Backhus / DEF: Robert Carey
Detention Hearing
Friday, Oct 27 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set

- MAGISTRATE JUDGE SUSAN VAN KEULEN COVERING CRIMINAL DUTY FOR MAGISTRATE JUDGE NATHANAEL COUSINS. ALL CRIMINAL DUTY MATTERS WILL BE HEARD AT 1:30 PM IN COURTROOM 6, 4TH FLOOR

Monday, Oct 30 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set
Tuesday, Oct 31 2017
10:00AM
5:15-cv-04073-EJD - Fitbit, Inc. v. AliphCom et al
Motion to Redact Transcript
Wednesday, Nov 1 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set
Thursday, Nov 2 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set
Friday, Nov 3 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set
Monday, Nov 6 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set
Tuesday, Nov 7 2017
- Judge Unavailable - PM
09:30AM
5:17-cv-03385-SVK - Lininger v. Pfleger et al
Initial Case Mgmt Conference
10:00AM
5:17-cv-01122-SVK - Rubio v. T K Noodle, Inc. et al
Order to Show Cause Hearing
Wednesday, Nov 8 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set

- Judge Unavailable - PM

Thursday, Nov 9 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set
Friday, Nov 10 2017
- Holiday - Veterans Day
Monday, Nov 13 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set
Tuesday, Nov 14 2017
10:00AM
5:16-cv-06925-LHK - Twilio, Inc. v. Telesign Corporation
Motion to Compel
5:17-cv-00778-BLF - Godo Kaisha IP Bridge 1 v. OmniVision Technologies, Inc.
Discovery Hearing
5:17-cv-04772-SVK - Wright v. BMW of Mountain View
Motion to Dismiss
Wednesday, Nov 15 2017
09:30AM
5:17-cv-02192-NC - Horn v. CRC Health Group, Inc.
Settlement Conference
Thursday, Nov 16 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set
Friday, Nov 17 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set
Monday, Nov 20 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set
Tuesday, Nov 21 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set
Wednesday, Nov 22 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set
Thursday, Nov 23 2017
- Holiday - Thanksgiving Day
Friday, Nov 24 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set
Monday, Nov 27 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set
Tuesday, Nov 28 2017
09:30AM
5:17-cv-05018-SVK - Stewart Cellars, LLC v. West Coast Wine Partners, LLC
Initial Case Mgmt Conference
Wednesday, Nov 29 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set
Thursday, Nov 30 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set
Friday, Dec 1 2017
- No Calendar Matters Presently Set

- CRIMINAL DUTY. ALL CRIMINAL DUTY MATTERS WILL BE HEARD AT 1:30 PM IN COURTROOM 6, 4TH FLOOR.

 
 
Back to Calendar


SCHEDULING
*Case Management Conferences: Tuesdays at 9:30 a.m.
*Civil Law & Motion Calendar: Tuesdays at 10:00 a.m.
*Civil Pretrial Conferences: Thursdays at 9:30 a.m.
*Parties are not required to reserve a hearing date but should confirm the Court's availability at http://www.cand.uscourts.gov. Hearings and motions may be reset as the Court's calendar requires. For questions regarding scheduling, please contact Courtroom Deputy Oscar Rivera at 408.535.5378 or at Oscar_Rivera@cand.uscourts.gov.

SAN JOSE CRIMINAL DUTY SCHEDULE (2017 and 2018)

(2017)
January 1 to January 20: Judge Cousins
January 21 to January 31: Judge Lloyd
February 1 to February 14: Judge Cousins. (Judge Lloyd to cover February 6 San Jose Criminal Duty for Judge Cousins)
February 15 to February 28: Judge van Keulen
March: Judge Lloyd (March 1 to March 20; March 23)
March: Judge van Keulen (March 21 to 22; March 24 to March 31)
April: Judge van Keulen (Judge Cousins to cover April 6 San Jose Criminal Calendar for Judge van Keulen)
May: Judge Cousins
June: Judge Lloyd
July: Judge van Keulen (Judge Cousins to cover July 19 to July 21 San Jose Criminal Duty for Judge van Keulen)
August: Judge Cousins
September: Judge Lloyd (Judge van Keulen to cover September 15 Criminal Duty for Judge Lloyd)
October: Judge Cousins (Judge van Keulen to cover October 23 to October 24 and October 26 to October 27 San Jose Criminal Duty for Judge Cousins.  Judge Lloyd to cover October 25 San Jose Criminal Duty for Judge Cousins)
November: Judge Lloyd
December: Judge van Keulen

(2018)
January: Judge Lloyd
February: Judge Cousins
March: Judge van Keulen
April: Judge Lloyd
May: Judge Cousins
June: Judge van Keulen
July: Judge Lloyd
August: Judge Cousins
September: Judge van Keulen
October: Judge Lloyd
November: Judge van Keulen
December: Judge Cousins

SALINAS CENTRAL VIOLATIONS BUREAU (CVB) CALENDAR (2017)
February 6: Judge Cousins
April 3: Judge Lloyd
June 5: Judge van Keulen
August 7: Judge Lloyd
October 2: Judge van Keulen
December 4: Judge Cousins

NOTICE OF UNAVAILABILITY
Please take notice that Magistrate Judge Susan van Keulen will be unavailable on the following days:

*Monday, March 6, 2017 to Friday, March 10, 2017;
*Monday, March 20, 2017;
*Thursday, March 23, 2017;
*Friday, May 12, 2017;
*Wednesday, May 24, 2017 to Friday, May 26, 2017;
*Friday, June 16, 2017;
*Wednesday, July 19, 2017 to Friday, July 21, 2017;
*Tuesday, August 8, 2017 to Wednesday, August 9, 2017;
*Friday, August 25, 2017;
*Monday, August 28, 2017;
*Monday, September 18, 2017 to Friday, September 22, 2017;
*Tuesday, September 26, 2017; and
*Monday, October 16, 2017 to Friday, October 20, 2017.

All counsel are hereby given notice that such absence constitutes a certificate of unavailability pursuant to Civil L.R. 1-5(p).

EX PARTE COMMUNICATIONS
When contacting the Court, all parties shall abide by Civil L.R. 11-4(c). Communications made in violation of the local rules will be disregarded as such.

OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPTS

All transcript orders must be placed online. For more information, please visit: http://www.cand.uscourts.gov/transcripts


Oscar Rivera
Courtroom Deputy to Magistrate Judge Susan van Keulen
United States District Court for the Northern District of California
280 South First Street, San Jose, CA 95113
Phone: 408.535.5378 / Email: Oscar_Rivera@cand.uscourts.gov